Them by Joyce Carol Oates,Elaine Showalter

Buy Used - Very Good


USD Sold out

Add to wishlist


Joyce Carol Oates's Wonderland Quartet comprises four remarkable novels that explore social class in America and the inner lives of young Americans. As powerful and relevant today as it on its initial publication, "them "chronicles the tumultuous lives of a family living on the edge of ruin in the Detroit slums, from the 1930s to the 1967 race riots. Praised by "The Nation" for her "potent, life-gripping imagination," Oates traces the aspirations and struggles of Loretta Wendall, a dreamy young mother who is filled with regret by the age of sixteen, and the subsequent destinies of her children, Maureen and Jules, who must fight to survive in a world of violence and danger.
Winner of the National Book Award, "them" is an enthralling novel about love, class, race, and the inhumanity of urban life. It is, raves "The New York Times," "a superbly accomplished vision."
"Them" is the third novel in the Wonderland Quartet. The books that complete this acclaimed series, "A Garden of Earthly Delights," "Expensive People, " and "Wonderland," are also available from the Modern Library.

More Details

Weight: 0.96 lbs

ISBN-10: 0345484401

ISBN-13: 9780345484406

Books by Joyce Carol Oates, Elaine Showalter