The Wind Masters: The Lives of North American Birds of Prey by David Allen Sibley,Pete Dunne

The Wind Masters: The Lives of North American Birds of Prey

by David Allen Sibley, Pete Dunne

Paperback

Categories: Science Books

Buy Used - Very Good

$4.77

USD Sold out

Add to wishlist

Description

Even people with little interest in birds will stop in their tracks at the sight of a hawk soaring overhead or a falcon perched on a window ledge. Birds of prey have an aura that few other creatures have. In the acclaimed Hawks in Flight, Pete Dunne showed what birds of prey look like. In The Wind Masters, he shows what it is like to be a bird of prey. He takes us inside the lives and minds of all thirty-four species of diurnal raptors found in North America -- hawks, falcons, eagles, vultures, the osprey, and the harrier -- and shows us how each bird sees the world, hunts its prey, finds and courts its mate, rears its young, grows up, grows old, and dies.
Vividly written, and beautifully illustrated by David Sibley, The Wind Masters is a brilliant work of narrative natural history in the tradition of Peter Matthiessen's The Wind Birds and Barry Lopez's Of Wolves and Men.

More Details

Weight: 0.82 lbs

ISBN-10: 0618340726

ISBN-13: 9780618340729

Readers Also Enjoyed

Books by David Allen Sibley, Pete Dunne