The Deptford Trilogy by Robertson Davies

The Deptford Trilogy

by Robertson Davies


Categories: Fiction Books & Literature

Buy Used - Acceptable


USD Add to cart

Add to wishlist


Fifth Business Ramsay is a man twice born, a man who has returned from the hell of the battle-grave at Passchendaele in World War I decorated with the Victoria Cross and destined to be caught in a no man's land where memory, history, and myth collide. As Ramsay tells his story, it begins to seem that from boyhood, he has exerted a perhaps mystical, perhaps pernicious, influence on those around him. His apparently innocent involvement in such innocuous events as the throwing of a snowball or the teaching of card tricks to a small boy in the end prove neither innocent nor innocuous. Fifth Business stands alone as a remarkable story told by a rational man who discovers that the marvelous is only another aspect of the real. The Manticore Around a mysterious death is woven a glittering, fantastical, cunningly contrived trilogy of novels. Luring the reader down labyrinthine tunnels of myth, history and magic, "THE DEPTFORD TRILOGY" provides an exhilarating antidote to a world from where 'the fear and dread and splendour of wonder have been banished'. World of Wonders This is the third novel in Davies's major work, "The Deptford Trilogy." This novel tells the life story of the unfortunate boy introduced in "The Fifth Business," who was spirited away from his Canadian home by one of the members of a traveling side show, the Wanless World of Wonders.

More Details

Weight: 1.19 lbs

ISBN-10: 0140147551

ISBN-13: 9780140147551